Monkey King!

It was my pick tonight, and I wanted to draw something from Becky Cloonan. While I love her art, finding something the girls could draw was hard. Conan seemed a bit much for two little girls. But, they absolutely loved this monkey Becky says (on her blog) was created for an opera house.

The monkey’s over the shoulder view was a source of some consternation for the girls … and a teachable moment. Grace did it her way, but did ask “What’s on the front of his shirt?” The flowing ribbons and smoke also vexed them a bit. Cate got mad at herself and said, “That head! I can’t make it look just like the picture!” We calmed down and agreed it was okay to do it in our own styles AND (more importantly) that Cate was just 7 and Becky had been drawing for many more years than she. And, that if she practiced Cate could get there, too. That seemed to chill her out. She proceeded to ink without tears.

For more of Becky’s work, check out Conan the Barbarian and her novels, The Mire and Wolves. Or, you can visit http://estrigious.com/becky/

One thought on “Monkey King!

  1. I get mad at myself like that all the time. I can’t get something to look the way I want it to, or it’s not just like the picture. I think it’s the perfectionist in me because others don’t seem to see it. Hey, that looks great! I’m now in their position. I think you all did great! It’s difficult to learn/copy someone else’s style without years of practice. Making it your own, makes it that much better. Job well done!

Leave a Reply

