Black Canary & Ms. Marvel

When we started 5 Minutes Marvels (by accident, mind you), Grace and I just enjoyed drawing. She reminded me how much fun drawing was and how much I’d missed it. As a child, I drew incessantly and without self-consciousness. But, then … I grew up and received the wonderful gift of adulthood … self-doubt. And, I stopped drawing.

I am so thankful to my girl for reminding me that I can draw for fun and for expression, not for perfectionism. You don’t have to be “good,” you just have to try. Our buddy, Dee, over at www.GirlsReadComics.Wordpress.com┬ájust learned the same lesson drawing two of her favorite heroines (and ours) — Black Canary and Ms. Marvel. And, then she wrote a terrific article about her experience. Thanks, Dee! Keep drawing. We’ll keep posting.

And, now a word from Dee …

2 thoughts on “Black Canary & Ms. Marvel

Leave a Reply

